I'm Sorry You Feel That Way : 'If you liked Meg Mason's Sorrow and Bliss, you'll love this novel' - Good Housekeeping-9781529420463

I'm Sorry You Feel That Way : 'If you liked Meg Mason's Sorrow and Bliss, you'll love this novel' - Good Housekeeping by Wait, Rebecca

Precio habitual
£8.99
Precio de venta
£8.99
Precio habitual
Agotado
Precio unitario
por 

Author: Wait, Rebecca

Fiction & related items

Published on 2 March 2023 by Quercus Publishing (riverrun) in the United Kingdom.

Paperback | 400 pages
129 x 197 x 28 | 286g

'IT'LL EASILY BE ONE OF MY BOOKS OF THE YEAR' Hannah Beckerman'It's a warm book and a touching one. And did I mention it's funny? Just read it. You'll see' The Times'Funny, tender and sad' Sunday Express'If you liked Meg Mason's Sorrow and Bliss, you'll love this novel' Good Housekeeping'One of the richest explorations of family dysfunction I've read' the i newspaper'Shades of Fleabag in this smart, funny drama' Mail on Sunday'An enjoyably bittersweet novel about a dysfunctional modern family' Independent'Razor-sharp ' Observer'One of the funniest novels you'll read this year' Guardian

SHORTLISTED FOR THE NOTA BENE PRIZE 2023THE BOOK THAT YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWNFor Alice and Hanna, saint and sinner, growing up is a trial. There is their mother, who takes a divide-and-conquer approach to child-rearing, and their father, who takes an absent one. There is also their older brother Michael, whose disapproval is a force to be reckoned with. There is the catastrophe that is never spoken of, but which has shaped everything . . .

As adults, Alice and Hanna must deal with disappointments in work and in love as well as increasingly complicated family tensions, and lives that look dismayingly dissimilar to what they'd intended. They must look for a way to repair their own fractured relationship, and they must finally choose their own approach to their dominant mother: submit or burn the house down. And they must decide at last whether life is really anything more than (as Hanna would have it) a tragedy with a few hilarious moments.

From the author of the Waterstones Book of the Month Our Fathers comes a compelling domestic comedy about complex family dynamics, mental health and the intricacies of sibling relationships.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING5* 'I adored this book'5* 'A brilliant novel about a dysfunctional family'5* 'This book blew me away'5* 'Loved, loved, loved this! Laugh-out-loud funny and beautifully poignant' 5* 'The best book i've read this year'